Connect with us

Hi, enter any keyword to search

Awards and Ceremoinies

2018 African Achievers Awards to Honour great Africans at the UK House of Parliament

The African Achievers Awards has consistently honoured great African Achievers from African Leaders, Young Achievers, Community Builders to Captains of Industries across the continent.

The Awards ceremony has fast become established as one of the biggest gatherings of influential and global African Achievers on the continent, the occasion is very grand and elegant.

Now in its 8th Edition, this year’s Ceremony holds at the United Kingdom House of Parliament on the 5th of July 2018 and is hosted by Rt. Hon. Diane Abbott (Current Shadow Home Secretary, United Kingdom), Chaired by Susan Fajana Thomas -former Mayor of the London Borough of Hackney & Chairperson of the African Achievers Awards Board.

According to Rex Idaminabo (The Principal Partner of the African Achievers Awards), the 8th edition will focus on Girls right to Education; a case for Africa. Despite progress in Education, there are many reasons that prevent girls from going to school. Poverty, pregnancy, school-based violence, child marriage, and discriminatory gender norms are some of the major obstacles to girls’ education worldwide.

Some outstanding Africans to be awarded at the ceremony include: Her Excellency Jewel Taylor – Vice President of Liberia, Mo Abudu – Founder Ebony LifeTV, Bogolo Kenewendo – Botswana, Minister of Trade and Investment, Her Excellency Jewel Taylor – Vice President of Liberia, Angela Kyerematen-Jimoh – IBM Ghana Country Manager, Kate Quartey-Papafio – CEO of Reroy Group, Jennifer Obaseki, Mrs. Elsie Appau, Ibrahim Mahama – CEO of Engineers & Planners, Mrs. Gifty Lamptey, Rev. Corneleius Max-Williams among others.

Speakers will include the Minister of Investment, Trade and Industry Botswana, Bogolo Joy Kenewendo, International communication expert and award-winning Author Mrs. Titi Horsfall, IBM Ghana CEO, Angela Kyerematen-Jimoh and other notable speakers.

Past Honorees include;
Arch. Bishop Desmond Tutu, Nelson Mandela Foundation, H.E. Jakaya Kikwete former President Republic of Tanzania), Dr. Margaret Blick Kigozi. (University chancellor and sportswoman.

Currently, she works as a consultant at United Nations Industrial Development Organization(UNIDO). She formerly served as the Executive Director of the Uganda Investment Authority), Dr. Paul Enenche (Senior Pastor Dunamis International), Mrs. Titi Horsfal, Sir Celestine Omehia, Mr. John Momoh. (He is the Chairman and Founder of Channels Television), Bill and Melinda Gate Foundation, Kofi Annan Foundation, Justina Mutale Foundation, Dr. Justina Mutale, The African Development Bank (AFDB) Sinach (International Gospel Songstress), Dr. Mathews Phosa, Moggesukkel Foundation, H.E Dr. Dlamini Zuma former Chairperson of the African Union Commission, Dr. Josephine Ojiambo Commonwealth Deputy Secretary-General
The high point of the Ceremony is the Achievers Honours, this will be presented to African’s making a difference across the Globe.



You May Also Like

Copyright © 2022