Connect with us

Hi, enter any keyword to search


Sony Music Publishing To Launch Inaugural West Africa Songwriter Camp

Sony Music Publishing today announced the launch of its inaugural songwriting camp in West Africa, set to take place in Accra, Ghana from January 5 to January 12, 2023.

The SMP Ghana Camp reflects the company’s efforts to expand support and drive growth opportunities for creative communities across the African continent. 

Spearheaded by Head of A&R, Africa Wale Davies, the week-long event will encompass a wide range of activities including sessions with top songwriters, artists, and producers; creative/A&R mixers; wellness activities; and community outreach workshops aimed at supporting the next generation of songwriters. 

Wale Davies said, “It’s an honour to spearhead the inaugural Sony Music Publishing West Africa camp, as we work to foster creativity and community across the roster and invest in the next generation of African talent. As a Nigerian myself it has always been a goal of mine to build bridges between the continent and the rest of the globe, and I am grateful for this opportunity to cultivate the future of music with SMP.”

Sony Music Publishing Managing Director, Nigeria Godwin Tom said, “This camp is a part of Sony Music Publishing’s commitment to African songwriters and the continent. I am delighted to be a part of this important effort to build meaningful connections between African composers and artists to other Africans, as well as the international music market. I also look forward to working together with our head of A&R for the continent, Wale Davies, along with our South African office as we further expand these songwriter-focused initiatives around the world.”

The SMP Ghana Camp will coincide with Detty December, celebrated across Ghana and Nigeria with various concerts and festivities.

The initiative will bring together a diverse community of songwriters from across SMP’s global roster including Tems, Ladipoe, Lojay, Guiltybeatz, Ozedikus, AV, Berwyn, Moon Willis, Johnny Coffer, Rymez, and more.

You May Also Like


KiDi has scheduled a tour of North America for the entire month of March. The tour has been named “The Golden Boy” after his...


HUGO Boss has unveiled its advertising campaign for Spring/Summer 2023 and it features a star-studded lineup of celebrities including Mr Eazi. The aim is...

Radio and TV News

Entertainment Journalist Kwame Dadzie, has found a new home at The Multimedia Group. His appointment starts on February 1, 2023. He previously worked at...


Today, 3x Grammy award-winning reggae band Morgan Heritage –– currently comprised of the Trinity: Peetah Morgan, Gramps Morgan, and Mr. Mojo Morgan, all the...

Copyright © 2022